Rothman Award for Structural Change

The Special Commission to Advance Macro Social Work announces the third annual Rothman Award for Structural Change hosted by the Special Commission to Advance Macro Social Work. The award is for social workers seeking transformative structural change in society by changing policies and/or procedures to benefit those impacted by inequalities. Structural changes must have occurred within the last four years to qualify for funding. The definition of Structural Change the Rothman Committee uses: Macro changes in policies, practices, control of or access to resources, including a shift in power relationships. 

The $2,000 annual award is funded through the generosity of Jack and Judith Rothman. 

Applications are due Friday, March 29th, 2024 at 5:00 PM ET. For Information, you can call us at 734-936-9124 and leave a voicemail if you have questions. We will get back to you shortly!

2023 Recipient

Awarded in 2023 to social workers Melissa Draughn and Tam Perry for Senior Housing Preservation- Detroit (SHP-D). Offering academic and practitioner social work perspectives on the history and accomplishments of the coalition in raising awareness of housing concerns of older residents in Detroit, the presentation will address various examples of collaboration including co-publishing and innovative dissemination approaches.

2022 Recipient

Awarded in 2022 to social worker Bobbi Sackman for NY Fair Pay Campaign and lifetime of aging justice. Established through the generous donation from Jack and Judy Rothman to the Special Commission